The State of Affairs

Recently I traveled to a national conference and started thinking about my career. It occurred to me that I don’t actually know what I want to do…

As someone in a PhD program this is pretty scary. Most people (or so I am led to believe) start a program with a specific outcome in mind. They want to be a professor or they want to move into industry. Nope. Not me. I did it wrong. I was curious, wanted to travel, and didn’t want to get a job.

And so here I am. I have been trying to fix this ‘mistake’ by doing lots of research. l have looked into industry, teaching, consulting, and other less traveled paths. And I have identified the next challenge. Do I want to travel and move around? I don’t know the answer to that question either. I like the place I currently live, and I really like the community of which l am a part. But opportunities! And who’s to say I wouldn’t love my new community even more?

Onto the last complication: when do l want to have chidren and how does that interact with my career goals? So many questions to which I don’t have the answers.

Leave a Reply

